Pursuit of Truthiness

my gut tells me I know economics

On French Fashion

with one comment

I’d heard that the French, and Europeans in general, dress to look ‘nice’ compared to most americans; this is certainly true, and as I look around here I can see everyone dressed impeccably compared to me in my old t-shirt.

I suppose it’s a good thing to look good; it’s a better thing though to spend less time and money on something the isn’t that important.

Of course, people will always find ways to be irrational; and if you want to fight them at an individual level, you will pay a social price.  I’m sure I’ll end up conforming on this one; some fights against human nature, I’m beginning to realize, aren’t really worth the effort.

In the short to medium term, I think a much more fruitful project than talking sense into people is to turn irrationality to positive, productive uses.

So hurrah for us hoodlums in the US who made it cool, at least for some people some of the time, to wear the oldest and cheapest clothes they have.

But I suppose the French have come a long way since the days when keeping up with court fashion could bankrupt an aristocrat.

Written by James Bailey

September 5, 2007 at 10:59 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. someday, t-shirt wearing, tight jeans strutting, emotions having, indie kids will grow up. then they will rule the world.

    omglolwtf steve jobs

    M

    September 17, 2007 at 4:02 am


Leave a Reply

